One aspect of owning a companion animal and a part that many people choose not to discuss is the loss of a pet. Losing your best friend — the one who gave you cuddles, played with you, and made you laugh even when you felt down — can be a devastating experience. However, it’s important to grieve this loss and work through the emotions.

People grieve the loss of a beloved pet in many different ways. Most experience the seven stages of grief: shock, denial, bargaining, anger, guilt, sorrow and acceptance. The amount of time spent in each stage may vary greatly for different people. We hope these resources will help in your grieving process.

End of Life Care:

How Do I Know When

Grief Resources:

Free Pet Loss Therapy, Memorial and Blogs – Associated Pet Loss Bereavement

Pet Loss Resources for Families with Children

Pet Loss Support Hotline